Who Are We?


The Durban Central Parish is part of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Southern Africa (ELCSA), a member church of the Lutheran World Federation (LWF). It is situated in the South African coastal city of Durban along the Indian Ocean in the province of KwaZulu-Natal. 

The Durban Central Parish consists of seven congregations. These are found in the inner-city area of Durban and the immediate surrounding residential areas in the eThekwini municipality extending about 15km to the south (including Wentworth) and 10km to the west of the inner city (including Lamontville and Chesterville).

We are a multi-cultural and multi-lingual parish and strive to celebrate our diversity, united by our Lutheran faith. As Lutherans we believe in the priesthood of all believers – active lay leaders and clergy from all walks of life are to be found in our leadership and congregations. We promote fellowship with other local Lutheran churches and  ecumenical organisations.

We aim to live out and pass on the love of God – outreach work is an important part of our christian experience. At the same time, we strive to provide a spiritual home away from home for the many students and migrant workers flocking to our city from remote rural areas.